The Worst Escape

Runaway

Serenity and quietness surround me
But these are unseen bonds that bind me
I’m staring at the rainbow
Through a crack in a small window
And I wonder if I have true colors inside me

For every passion that finds me,
It’s another dream I can’t pursue
My conscience is the judge that files me,
And I can do everything but sue

For my thoughts I am in jail
And guess what fine I am to pay…
‘What it costs to be me’
My every escape leaves behind it a trail
That no matter how far I run, I run right back to me

Even if I could escape,
From what do I make my flee?
Myself? Or the fantasies that make me?
I need my bail
What does it cost to be me?

Leave a Reply

